Articles

Amidst it all

White bed sheets, metal blades and humans with white coats; i feared them all. I may appear calm on the outside but inside me lay hidden a mechanism- an exhausted running heart, all ready to clench the oxygen molecules. From the corner of my eye, I can just about see beautiful blue attires, gloves and shiny metal tools, all set for the agonizing nightmare. Clink-clink, the blades cried, foreshadowing my screams and intensifying my current premonitions. Pushing to the limits, my body tried it’s best to camouflage with the pale sheets (another effort in vain).

Romans 8:18 says, I consider that what we suffer at this present time cannot be compared at all with the glory that is going to be revealed to us. That is exactly it. The surgery was painful. Very painful. Nevertheless, my best friend Jesus was there, wiping my tears before it even poured out of my eyes. The half an hour of pain only felt like a few minutes. This too shall pass by, I said, pacifying myself. From this experience I learned many significant lessons, one being, that Jesus strengthens you and will be beside you no matter what angle the situation turns out to be.

Today I’m healed; thanks to all the facilities and blessings God has given me. The pain and suffering was only for a while, but the comfort for a lifetime. A message I would like to share with my dear readers is that don’t be disheartened. If you are having problems, big or small, Jesus will be there, holding your hand tightly and never letting you go. He will wipe away your tears, prepare and equip you for what is to come. After you have overcome your hardships with the strength God gave you, you will look back, smile and thank God.

I am smiling right now as I am writing this because through this situation I got rid of my many fears. I am now able to look back to all my problems and thank God, it is a blessing. Yes, a blessing because unknowingly, or knowingly, you become stronger. I became stronger and now this is one of the many rocks I stepped over along with Jesus in this journey, better known as life.

A big thank you to God, my parents and last but not the least, the medical staff behind the scene, who all helped to make this painful experience, a wonderful memory to treasure.

As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you, he said holding me tightly. Amidst it all, he was there. 

Leave a Reply

