The Freedom to speak truth

mandela

Sometimes the hardest thing and the right thing are the same

Stand up for what is right! Which right though? The right you think is right, what your companion thinks is right or what God thinks is right? Which right is right?

Like always, it’s easier said than done. You don’t know your strength or how much you can stand up for the truth, unless you are put to test. The truth shall set you free. Yes, it will, but you often fail to do so, thinking of all the consequences if you did. It’s often the fear you have of the opinions of others or the fear of losing someone. You are free, you are not in prison, yet you don’t have the freedom. The freedom to do what your heart says. The freedom to do what God wants you to do. You may have the freedom of speech, the freedom of religion and the freedom of press; but where is the freedom to speak the truth? To speak and never be judged, never be left out…  To never face the consequences!

I was put into such a situation; I love God, I want to tell the truth; and at the same time lie because I have to save someone. These three things are different. Very different! But there will come a time when they all come together, and you have to choose. You will have to make up your mind. Should I go with what God puts into my heart (the truth)? Or should I go with lies (I am saving someone from getting into trouble). Eventually I made up my mind; but then came the ‘ifs’ (the daunting part). If I tell the truth, won’t she get into trouble? Won’t I lose a friend? If I lie, am I not breaking someone else’s trust? Will the righteousness in me not haunt me for the rest of my days? 

 I looked at the many quotes stuck on my white washed walls. My gaze changed course onto the one I like the most. The one quote I needed, in that situation.

The greatest fear in the world is of the opinions of others. And the moment you are unafraid of the crowd you are no longer a sheep, you become a lion. A great roar arises in your heart, the roar of freedom.

I have always been a sheep, and I know I will continue to be one. But not this time! Let me experience being a lion, let me hear the great roar in my heart. Let me be free!

One thought on “The Freedom to speak truth

Leave a Reply

